New York Legalizes Same-Sex Marriage

The New York Senate tonight passed the controversial Marriage Equality Act after the crucial 32nd, and 33rd, votes were secured.

New York thus becomes the 6th state to legalize same-sex marriage, with the other five being Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, and Iowa. (Same-sex marriage is also legal in the District of Columbia.)


The Empire State Building’s pre-scheduled rainbow light display honoring NYC Pride Week

becomes that much more meaningful in light of the state’s legalization of same-sex marriage.